6am wake ups. I can’t cope! 

I know I’m not alone on this. I know there are many, many parents in the same boat. But 6am? I mean in all fairness! Gimme 7am and I’ll be happy with that, but I just can’t function if I’m up at 6am. 

The first night he went in to his own room he slept til 7 so I know he can do it! I’ve tried everything now at this stage. He doesn’t go to bed until 8pm so I’m not putting him to bed too early. And I can’t put him to bed any later than that, but to be honest it wouldn’t make any difference as he’d still wake up the same time. I’m baffled! 

Now I refuse to start the day at 6. I won’t go down the stairs with him till 8 at the earliest. I even feed him in his room and put him back down and pray he will go back to sleep. Sometimes he does but mostly he won’t.  He’s a machine! I’m sure it’s something he will grow out of but it’s an absolute killer.

It sets the tone for the whole day. You just know its going to be a long one. Mammy is tired but still has to look after 3 boys. There could be school runs, play dates, shopping , cooking and cleaning to do. Plus you have to entertain them, to feed them, mind them and ya know, just generally keep them alive. This can be tricky when you are tired!
But we are women! We are warriors! We are mammys! And we do it. I know it won’t be forever. I do..I do..I know that. But when you are in that moment you just want to cry. I suppose I’m lucky in a sense that it’s 6am and not any earlier he’s waking. But the clocks are going back soon…what then??

Ok we will worry about that when the time comes! For now I’ve just gotta grin and bear it. I will figure it out. I have to! And when I do I will let you all know. And then we will all be refreshed and live happily ever after! 

Who am I kidding! Well look we can dream can’t we!! Hugs to all you other tired momma’s. We are doing our best and that’s all that matters.

Love 

Melissa 

4 thoughts on “6am wake ups. I can’t cope! 

  1. Since my son was about 3/4 he would always wake up around 6. I would allow him to use the bathroom and then give him some toys to play with until I was ready to come get him. He is now 9 and still wakes up the same time and just stays playing in his room until I wake.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh lord, wow, 24/7, you definitely are a warrior, you are doing an amazing job, truly love this blog, totally inspires me and hope I can be one tenth of the mom you are one day……Amazing..xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

